Introduction to UN Hazard Codes

chemical-hazards-listUN has established hazard codes for hazardous substances. The codes are classified into 9 classes, where certain classes are divided into some sub-classes.

Hazard coding is given based on hazard characteristic of each substance. It is very important to know these hazard codes in case of hazard controls.

Here are these 9 hazard codes established by UN.

Class 1 Explosive
1.1 Substances with a mass explosion hazard
1.2 Substances which present a projection hazard but no mass explosion hazard
1.3 Substances which present both a fire hazard and a minor blast or projection hazard (or both) but not a mass explosion hazard
1.4 No significant hazard
1.5 Very insensitive substances with a mass explosion hazard
1.6 Very insensitive articles with no mass explosion hazard
Class 2 Gases
2.1 Flammable gases
2.2 Non-flammable, non-toxic gases
2.3 Toxic gases
Class 3 Flammable liquids
Class 4 Flammable solids
4.1 Flammable solids, self-reactive substances and solid desensitized explosives
4.2 Materials liable to spontaneous combustion
4.3 Substances which, in contact with water, release flammable gases
Class 5. Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides
5.1 Oxidizing agents
5.2 Organic peroxides
Class 6 Toxic and infectious substances
6.1 Toxic substances
6.2 Infectious substances
Class 7 Radioactive substances and articles
Class 8 Corrosive substances
Class 9 Miscellaneous dangerous substances

Tags: , , , , ,

Subscribe To Updated News & Offers